dear future teachers

ace-gh0st:

classicalmonoblogue:

the-crunchyest-of-water:

imsurroundedbyidiots553:

northeast-artist98:

haleykinz:

panicatthequeerness:

haleykinz:

imaginecrowleyspn:

marksheppardischarming:

thekingsparty:

reclusive-lester:

iamdibandmothman:

bellerose1232:

myworldendedwithyou:

hallowdragonmaster:

DO NOT

FORCE SHY KIDS

TO TALK.

DO NOT

TELL SHY KIDS

THEY NEED TO PARTICIPATE MORE.

DO NOT

MAKE PARTICIPATION

A GRADE.

DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA

HOW HARD IT IS

FOR SOME STUDENTS

TO JUST RAISE THEIR HANDS?

FORCING THEM INTO GROUP PROJECTS

AND MAKING THEM TALK

DOES NOT “TEACH THEM TO BE SOCIAL AND DEVELOP INTO WELL-ROUNDED INDIVIDUALS” 

IT SCARED THE SHIT OUT OF THEM.

AND MAKES THEM HATE SCHOOL.

SERIOUSLY.

COLLEGES TOO.

THERE IS NO REASON TO REQUIRE A PARTICIPATION GRADE.

IF I’M MAKING 90′S ON ALL MY TESTS/QUIZZES

IT MEANS I KNOW THE DAMN MATERIAL YOU TAUGHT

UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE SHOULD YOU LOWER MY GRADE 10% JUST BECAUSE I DIDN’T TALK ENOUGH.

I SWEAR IF I GET ANOTHER “B” IN A CLASS THAT I EXCELLED IN JUST BECAUSE I DIDNT FEEL LIKE RAISING MY HAND TO ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS

I MIGHT ACTUALLY KILL U  

PREACH

I may not be shy but I agree with you 100% about the whole participation part !

*SLAMS REBLOG BUTTON*

SERIOUSLY THIS IS AN ACTUAL FUGKIBG PROBLEM

over here, in Germany, participation is 2/3 of the grade, everything you write only counts for 1/3. I’ve always had As in written exams, but teachers thought it fair to give me Cs and Ds, just because I didn’t raise my hand often enough. (I did reply tho when asked directly.)

And other students who *beeped* up written exams but blabbered all lesson long (not even IN topic) got better grades than me. 

This speaks to me on a spiritual level.

Also, don’t force the shy kid into a group project with the popular kids. They’ll only be humiliated by the popular kids, which will have the opposite effect of what you want.

AND I STG DO NOT

*popular kid is being loud and obnoxious*

*sits loud and obnoxious kid next to quiet and shy kid*

A) a shy person shouldn’t be a punishment

B) it’s more of a punishment for the shy kid than the loud mouth

C) how about you send the kid outside or put him alone rather than allowing a student to distract other students and make them feel uncomfortable

plus, FUCKING DO SOMETHING WHEN SOMEONE IS BULLIED!

^^^

*DEMOLISHES THE REBLOG BUTTON*

Please! I swear! Teachers, learn from this! My sister has selective mutism (which means if she doesn’t talk much in public. If she doesn’t talk to you, don’t get offended. She didn’t talk to our aunt until she was six. She says she wants to talk to people, but it feels like the words get stuck in her throat) and school got so bad, my mother took her out of public school and started homeschooling her. Teachers, please, do not force shy, quiet kids to talk. It makes their shyness/quietness worse. 

Can I just say though this is terrible during school it is an important skill to have in most careers because many employers may fire someone who does not interact with them at all

For those of you who aren’t shy and want to help:
As a natural chatterbox with zero problem talking in class, my method was to talk to the shy students one-on-one in the caf, around campus, wherever, and get a few comments and ideas from everyone I could, and then pepper them into my class discussions “I want to bring up X, because Jane mentioned in a discussion that Y, which ties into that thing John said the other day about Z…”
This will occasionally backfire and inspire the prof to ask John or Jane to expand on their idea, and you’ll have to smooth it over and divert the prof’s attention back off them, but 95% of the time it just gives the prof the vague sense that John and Jane were contributing. I initially started doing it for shy friends, and their participation scores shot up, so I expanded it.

“Can I just say though this is terrible during school it is an important skill to have in most careers because many employers may fire someone who does not interact with them at all”

Exactly. Capitalism is a pile of shit.

Leave a Reply

